Lost in the World

“I will not allow myself to be so absorbed in the whirlwind of work as to forget about God. I will spend all my free moments at the feet of the Master hidden in the Blessed Sacrament.” St. Faustina

St. Faustina had a unique personal connection to God. She knew from a very young age that she was meant for religious life. She went into a convent against her parents wishes and devoted her life to God. In response to His call, she wrote events of her life down in a dairy. She exposed for the whole world the incredible relationship she had with God and inspired them to have the same.

This particular quote has had an interesting impact upon my life and my relationship with God. It helped me realize that the stresses of life are not important in the long run. The only thing that is important all the time is God.

To do this, I started to take a small block of time out of every day to spend with God. Trying to make God more of a priority than my homework and social life, but that wasn’t enough.

 

St. Faustina says to spend every free moment God, not just a few minutes. Just taking a small amount of time out of my day is not enough to combat the massive distractions of this world. Staying focused on God throughout the day involves taking MULTIPLE small moments of my day to think about God. Otherwise I get lost in the hustle and bustle of the world.

One thing that helps me to remember to stay focused on God is the song called Breathe by Jonny Diaz. It talks about how the world can be a crazy whirlwind and how we often get lost in it. When this happens, the best thing to do is to sit at the feet of God and just breathe.

One thought on “Lost in the World

Leave a Reply

