Beauty and the Beast

 

Recently, the new Beauty and the Beast movie released it’s first trailer. As the original movie is my favorite, I have been really super excited about this trailer. Why wouldn’t I be? “Far off places, daring sword fights, magic spells, a prince in disguise.” – Beauty and the Beast

All jokes aside, this movie is about a core part of life. Love. A prince full of hatred and contempt tells off an enchantress in disguise.  In response, she makes him look on the outside like what he does on the inside. The only way for him to turn back to normal is to find someone to love him. In all reality, this is a story we all live everyday. Ok the getting turned into a beast part isn’t, but finding someone to love us is. So what does being loved or loving someone mean?

My favorite bible verse explains this perfectly. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

I love this verse because it tells us exactly how to live. We’re told to live our lives in love and this is the definition of love. The hardest part of it, though, is putting it into practice. There are so many different parts of love. Also, we’re not supposed to follow this just with significant others or the closest members of our friends and family but with every person we come into contact with, including our enemies.

I struggle with this definition everyday; however, I look to the first part of the verse to remember why loving this way is so important. 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

That entire passage is basically saying that if there isn’t love in the things you do or the words you say, then it doesn’t mean anything. Knowing this, why wouldn’t you take every opportunity to live your life with love.

This might seem a little crazy and extremely hard to do. Take baby steps. Pick one part of the definition above and work towards perfecting it in your life. When you feel like you’ve made significant progress, move on to another part. Once you make it through the entire definition, start over. As humans we may not be able to reach perfection but if we are always working towards it, we’ll get as close as we can.

Now for your viewing pleasure, the new Beauty and the Beast trailer.

Leave a Reply

