Seven Deadly Sins: Pride

f218424e10aa293af72303078f35aef7

My normal day consists of me waking up in the morning and deciding what to wear. I look in the mirror and worry if other people will like how I look. I go about my day and see people around. When I do, I judge their appearance and think they’re judging mine. I talk to my friends and family throughout the day. Often times I’m complaining about something that happened to me earlier that day. Sometimes, we’ll get on the subject of a family member or a friend. I’ll give my opinion on their life choices and often times share details about their life that I most likely heard through the grapevine. At night, I go to bed and worry about what I’m going to do the next day.

As I look at this very honest depiction of my life, I’m internally cringing. I feel like every part of my day is filled with sin. Fortunately I can at least tie most of the sins together under one category, pride.

Pride – the quality of having an excessively high opinion of oneself or one’s importance.

At one point in my life, I didn’t feel like I was good enough. I didn’t have confidence in myself. When I would worry about how I dressed, people would tell me that their opinions don’t matter. They told me to only worry about how it made me feel. This worked for a time, but now has kinda backfired.

Now, I don’t worry about what people think of me because I want to be liked but because I want to feel important. I judge other people because I think I’m better than them. At first, though, I wasn’t aware of this ulterior motive. I thought it was normal because everybody else does it. Note to self: it’s not always cool to be like everybody else.

Then my close friends and family started to point out that I was going a little too far. I was taking people who perfectly enjoy their lives and trying to bring them down behind their backs to make myself feel better. I then started to look at the way I lived my life and realized how much pride has over taken my life.

At first I was discourage, but then I turned to my bible. Luke 9:23 says “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” To truly be the person God made us to be, we have to deny ourselves. We have to deny our wants, dreams, and pride before God. Our plan that we are so proud of may not be the right one for us. It may not lead where we want and it may not even turn out to be what we want. The only way for us to truly get where we need to go is to put aside the pride for ourselves and to place that pride in God.

Leave a Reply

