Making History

We’ve all had those days where nothing seems to go right. Sometimes we can just write it off as a bad day but sometimes it really brings us down. I personally find it really difficult to shake a bad day. It’s hard for me to know what I’m capable of then to see myself fall back into dangerous bad habits. I look back and become so afraid that those bad habits will stick with me forever. I become so afraid that instead of working through the problem or praying about it, I ignore and avoid it hoping it will go away.

Unfortunately that’s not how life works. I can pretend all I want that the problem doesn’t exist but at the end of the day, the homework is still due and I still need to do it to get a good grade and I need a good grade to eventually be an adult and have a life. So what do I do?

This song “History” by Matthew West has been stuck in my head recently. He says that even though yesterday may have been a bad day, that’s gone and over with so move on. I really like the second verse: “You know you can’t stay right where you fell. The hardest part is forgiving yourself but let’s take a walk into today and don’t let your past get in the way.”

I feel like these words best say what to do in a bad day situation. We can’t stay in that bad day or else one bad day will lead into a whole life of bad days. We have to stand up and embrace today for what it is, a chance to start over and to fix the wrongs of yesterday. One way to do this is an examination of conscious every day.

I have heard multiple homilies this summer plus read a book about how we are called to perform an examination of conscious every day. So what is that? Honestly, I didn’t know at first what an examination of conscious involved. Upon further investigation, I found out an examination of conscious is just becoming aware of the actions and inactions of the day. Determining if we’re better today than yesterday, what we could improve upon, and what is preventing us from making progress.

At the very least, I know that I should at least say a prayer at the end of these bad days. As Matthew West says, use the bad days to remember “the day that love made history.”

Leave a Reply

