Green with Envy 

imgres.jpg

With the 3 day weekend last week I completely forgot to write a post. So as last week was the first Monday of the month, here is the seven deadly post of the month.

In the past, I was a loner. I didn’t have a lot of friends and wasn’t really close to any family members. I was involved in some groups and saw people I knew in groups of friends but still wasn’t really close to anybody in particular. At first, I was extremely jealous. How did they have friends? Why wasn’t I invited to that party? How is everyone finding out about these things that I have no idea about?

The answer to my questions was fairly simple. They reached out to others and initiated contact. This was something I didn’t do till recently. At the time, though, I couldn’t figure it out. What did they have that I didn’t?

What I know now is that I was being envious. Not only was I jealous of something I didn’t have, I was letting that affect what I did have.

According to the Catholic Catechism, envy “refers to the sadness at the sight of another’s goods and the immoderate desire to acquire them for oneself, even unjustly.”2539.

I was letting the sadness of envy deter me from going out and getting my own friends. I eventually had someone point this out to me. I was told that I couldn’t complain about not having friends if I didn’t go to parties, hang out with people, or even try to make friends. This was when I realized that I was letting my envy control my life. I then reached out to people and started making social nights for myself. Now I have my own group of friends.

Look back next week to see what virtue we are given to help us fight against envy.

Leave a Reply

