Blow Your Top

anger-inside-outThis week I will be talking about another 7 Deadly Sin, Anger.

Anger is that overwhelming feeling you get when someone says or does something that you disagree with. According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church, Anger is “a desire for revenge” (2302). Anger is a natural part of being a human and is not outrightly a mortal sin. It becomes a mortal sin when it results in the desire or action of seriously wounding or killing a neighbor. Like in the story of Cain and Able.

Recently, I’ve had to deal with a lot of anger. Long story short, some people I knew attacked someone I’m very close with, over Facebook. Then of course never properly handled the situation. I was very, very mad. Someone I loved got attacked for defending his beliefs (on a Catholic page). I have a very open heart and sometimes care too much about other people. When someone I care about gets hurt or attacked, I feel it as a personal affront. This is obviously not how things should be handled.

As I was really upset, I went on to Facebook and started writing a really nasty post back to these horrible people; however, before I hit send, something hit me. If I posted something out of anger, it wouldn’t do anything and could actually make the situation worse. So instead of posting my own words I turned to the wisest person I know, God. With the help of my grandmother I was able to find words from the bible saying something much more pleasant but that had a similar meaning to what I was trying to convey.

It didn’t work real well. The other people didn’t take the quote the way I took it and didn’t even understand why I was writing it. That’s when I realized that if people don’t want to listen, they won’t, even if it’s God’s word. The next day, though, someone that the group respects posted a response trying to appease both sides and resolve the situation. Again, reading it through their eyes, I know they saw it as this person patting them on the back and condemning my friend but I knew that wasn’t what it was. This just shows that anger doesn’t always help a situation and sometimes nothing can but patience and faith.

This song Ceasefire really sums up how we should handle anger. Plus I really like the song.

Leave a Reply

