Forgiveness

Last week I talked about anger and shared a story that has happened recently in my life. The strength and good sense I had had to calm down before reacting to the awful things that people said is the virtue prudence. According the the Catechism of the Catholic Church, prudence “disposes practical reason to discern our true good in every circumstance and to choose the right means of achieving it” (1806). This means putting aside your anger to use common sense when reacting in a situation. It’s a little like What Would Jesus Do.

In the situation I described last week, prudence led me to calm down and think about what I was going to say instead of simply spouting my thoughts and feelings. However, prudence also calls me to another course of action, forgiveness. The people involved in this situation are people I have to see occasionally and still be cordial to. Not only that, but I also am called by Jesus to still love them even if they hurt me or someone I love.

Jesus showed the truest form of prudence by forgiving those who had him crucified. Jesus loves each and everyone of us even though we constantly sin and turn against him. Jesus is a prime example of how we should act when we’re angry. Don’t let anger take over your actions, instead try forgiveness, it could change your life.

Here is a song that shares a little bit about how amazing forgiveness is. “Forgiveness
by Matthew West.

Leave a comment