A Rose by Any Other Name is Still a Rose

Recently, I’ve been getting really disappointed at myself. Instead of using my time wisely and doing productive work or even self care activities, I turn to Netflix and avoid it all. I then get really mad at myself and start feeling like I’m worthless. This can sometimes be worsened from being Catholic, i.e. Catholic guilt.

In yesterday’s homily, the priest talked about how we can basically do nothing right. We are sinners and we always will be. He mentioned how just being a good person isn’t enough. This is a comment I really struggle with. I have many friends who are not Catholic and I can’t be one of those people who believe that my friends are not going to heaven because they don’t follow all the rules of the Catholic Church or believe exactly the same thing the Church does. I also can’t believe that because I don’t follow all the rules of the Church or believe exactly the same things. I believe that the Church is led by humans who are just like the rest of us and they make mistakes and misinterpretations just like the rest of us. This means that everything the Church says may not be what Jesus wants us to do.

This does not mean that I openly or even internally am against the Church. I believe in the Catholic Church and will follow its teachings, as long as they make sense and can back up the teachings with words from the saints or the bible. But I digress. I do believe that it doesn’t matter what faith you identify with as long as you are a good person.

This does involves following Jesus’s teachings, including the virtues. I specifically mean the virtue of humility. Personally, I can’t just do something because it’s a good thing to do. I honestly don’t know what is considered good or bad; however, I do know what Jesus considers good or bad and that is what I follow. This means that when I do a good thing, it is because I believe Jesus would want me to do that.

That is what I believe separates Christians from everyone else. Also that we are called to do everything out of love. Love is a universal part of being Catholic. Here’s a song to help remind you of that.

Leave a Reply

