This past weekend, my grandmother passed away and the entire family went home for the funeral. Thinking about it, this is probably the first time we were all together in the same room in about 10 years. Now when it comes to family drama, mine stands on the line of 100% screwed up, we can’t be in the same room together and everything great, everybody loves everyone, everybody hugs everyone. Needless to say, tensions were high on a day when emotions were already screwed up.

The advice I kept getting on that day was to pray. It wasn’t like “say a prayer and everything will be ok.” It was more like “say a prayer before you ay something.” Saying a prayer gave me a second to calm down and think about what I was going to say, or do, without the reaction of emotion behind it. It actually helped a lot.

Overtime I got upset or wanted to say something, usually negative, to someone, I said a prayer and was reminded why we were all there. I went home to respect the life of my grandmother and to help support those I love that had been close to her. It was a rough day to get through but everyone survived with little harm done.

This day just reminded me that sometimes it’s not about the prayer you say but the intention behind why you’re saying it.

Leave a Reply

