Through Another’s Eyes

A few weekends ago the Sunday school class I have been teaching received first communion. With this in mind, I thought I’d talk a little bit about communion.

Mass is such a scared time and part of the Catholic faith; however, this is mostly because of the sacrament of Eucharist which is celebrated in every single mass. Eucharist is one of those special sacraments that comes directly from the bible. Every time a priest celebrates the sacrament of Holy Eucharist it’s like the last supper is happening again.

Because this happens at every single mass and follows pretty much the same format every single time, it can sometimes become monotonous and feel like we’re just going through the motions. So how do you stay involved and active during the mass, specifically the Eucharistic Prayer.

Throughout my life, I have had various ways that I’ve gotten through the Eucharistic Prayer. When I was younger, I had no idea what it was and kinda zoned out through it. In high school, I started to understand what was actually happening and tried to place myself at the last supper and looked up at the cross every time I heard the Eucharistic Prayer. Recently, I’ve had a different view on it.

I sing in the choir at my church; however, you can’t see the crucifix from where the choir sits. Instead I end up looking at one of the side walls of the church. Then I started to notice what was on the wall, the stations of the cross. I decided that every time I heard the Eucharistic Prayer I would look at the stations and imagined I was seeing it for real. After a little while, I started wondering what it would look like from Mary’s point of view.

IMG_0380

See the story with this picture Artwork

 

I drew a picture that shows what I think about every time I hear the Eucharistic Prayer. It’s the beam from a dropped cross with child footprints running past in the sand. When Mary looked on during these events, she didn’t see a man but a child. She saw her child who she had watched play tag and run through the sand now carrying the cross he would die on.

Every time I imagine this, it reminds me of what actually happened during the last supper and why it is so important that we do this at every single mass. This is just one way to look at the Eucharistic prayer. How do you look at it?

Leave a Reply

